Movie Review: "Mega Shark vs. Giant Octopus" (Netflix)

How did I end up watching this movie you might ask. In all honesty, I really have no idea. A series of events led me to this movie. It all started with a friend of mine giving me a 1 month free trial to Netflix. I have never had a Netflix account before so I figured what the hell. Might as well sign up so that I could finally use the Netflix streaming ability of my Xbox 360. After I signed up, I asked another buddy of mine to log into Live as well so that we could try out the party mode on Netflix. I already knew, this was going to be something interesting.

Let me just say that Netflix on the Xbox 360 is amazing. I have never used Netflix before so this was something brand new to me. On the 360, Netflix loads up fast. Images of each movie appear almost instantly along with the title. Clicking the image allows you to read a description of the movie. Everything is arranged by categories and easy to navigate. If there was 1 complaint about it, it is that there is no search feature. I can’t just type the name of a movie. One workaround is to load up the Netflix website and do a search from there. Then add it to your Instant Queue which automatically shows up on your Xbox. It’s not the most convenient thing, but it works. This is turning into a Netflix review. I’ll save this part for another time. Back to “Mega Shark vs. Giant Octopus”!

I really wasn’t expecting much from this movie. In fact, I had no idea what to expect from this movie. I only ended up watching it because my friend and I were looking for the cheesiest movie to watch on Netflix so we could make fun of it “Mystery Science Theater” style in our Netflix party room. We passed on some other goodies and ended up choosing “Mega Shark vs. Giant Octopus.”

The movie starts off with what appears to be stock video footage from any of the numerous National Geographic wilderness specials. At first, production value looks pretty good, but then it goes drastically downhill from there. The set designs are horrible especialy what they used for the interior of all the submarines. The special effects are equally as craptastic. They must not have spent too much money on this movie because it honestly looked like they just filmed the entire movie on the same beach and the same subarmine room. I think they only used a total of 4 different sets.

I wont give away too much of the movie, but what I can say that there is actually very little of the Mega Shark fighting the Giant Octopus. It was kind of a let down. Most of the time is just spent with actors talking to each other trying to figure out what the hell to do while constantly losing track of both creatures. I don’t know how you can lose track of a “mega” shark and a “giant” octopus. I was however surprised to see two actors in it who are some what recognizable. Debbie Gibson, or as she likes to be called Deborah now and Lorenzo Lamas aka Renegade.

This movie really wasn’t any good. However, it does have some value to it. It’s a great party movie. Let me just say that this is not a movie that you want to watch alone. I recommend that everyone grab a buddy or two and either watch this together or over Live in a party. It only makes a really bad movie really fun. If you buddies are equally as twited as your are, there will be 88 minutes of hilarity.

Score:
Movie: 1/5 stars
Fun Factor: 4/5

3 thoughts on “Movie Review: "Mega Shark vs. Giant Octopus" (Netflix)

  1. It is one of the worst movies I have ever seen, but because I was watching it with a friend over Live Netflix party, it made a really bad movie really fun to watch. This is mainly because we were ripping the shit out of it.
    I definitely would not recommend anyone watch this movie on their own. It really is very bad. If I were watching it by myself, I would have stopped after the first 5 minutes. Maybe even sooner then that.

  2. Pingback: Free Movie Rental on the Playstation Store – Godzilla 2000 « The Gamer With Kids

Leave a Reply

